Area 2 BRC Secretary
+44 (0) 7831 729 726

Hat Tagging

BRC Hat Rules


We have been notified that the European Commission have made changes to the EN1384 hat standard (this also includes BSEN1384) and it will no longer be recognised as an acceptable standard for riding hats in the UK.

However, in order to phase out the use of EN1384 and/or BSEN1384 hat standards, the BRC 2015 / 2016 hat rules will be changed as follows:

ALL hats will be checked by other disciplines as well. BD & BE, the hats tags are turquoise in colour and will replace the orange tags of 2017, but please remember we will be still checking the hats to make sure they are correct, it is for your own health and safety.

All hats which only meet the standard EN1384 or BSEN1384, and do not comply with another standard off the above list, WILL NOT be accepted and therefore will not be permitted for any BRC competition. Hats which bear EN1384 or BSEN1384 along with another standard from the above list, will be tagged. For example, BSEN1384 & PAS015 (1998 or 2011) along with the Kitemark, would be acceptable, but not BSEN1384 on its own.

From 1 January 2016, no hats with a peak of any description will be permitted for the XC phase of any BRC competition. Hat covers and silks will be permitted

Please also check your body protectors, from 1.1.18 the purple tag will have to be 2009 onwards, 2000 onwards will not be accepted.

2nd photo is of Rebecca Jago and Jen Atkinson at the Pairs Championships at Bury Farm.

The third photo is of Mary Barrass who was the owner of Barton Stud, she was also a dressage judge, Chairperson of British Riding Clubs training committee, she was a founder member of British Riding Clubs in Oxford and also Newcastle Riding Club. This is a photograph of her at St. Nicholas Hospital grounds - it was on 22nd May 1988 and the horse was called Cyril. Thank you to Janice Winn for the information. Thank you to all the Team Managers of the different clubs, you do a marvellous job. All the competitions and training are on the events pages. Hilary McKenna Scorers. We are trying to have a score team of about 11-12 people that would score for different events through the year, the team will be lead by Friedl Hutchinson and some training will be given, you do not necessarily have to have a horse background, but a general interest in scoring and also familiar with computers would be helpful.


Please contact Hilary. 07831729726 or email

Horse of the Year Show set to celebrate their 70th anniversary
Live streaming from the Small Pony Premier Show at Bury Farm Equestrian Centre
Lancashire?s Nicole Newburn becomes the NAF Shining Star for February
British Showjumping?s Team NAF announced for Wellington CSIO4* FEI Nations Cup
The Champagne Cave takes on the title sponsorship of the Winter Grades B & C Championship
Aberdeenshire?s Charley Hamilton & Nicole Lockhead Anderson jump to victory in the Charles Britton Equestrian Construction Winter JA Classic Qualifiers at Morris Equestrian Centre
Revolution Sports + Entertainment, British Showjumping and the Sports Marketing Industry mourn the loss of a true professional
Live streaming from the Large Pony Premier at Morris Equestrian Centre
British Equestrian Federation appoints Nick Fellows as Chief Executive
Chard Equestrian joins forces with the British Showjumping Bristol & Somerset Junior Academy for the fourth consecutive year
Youth Pathway Coaching Programme
Powerful Season of Top Sport As 2018 LGCT and GCL Calendar Revealed
Amanda Derbyshire and Luibanta BH Capture Victory in $70,000 Equinimity WEF Challenge Cup
Live streaming from the Small Pony Premier at Keysoe
Enjoy Fantastic Hospitality at The Equerry Bolesworth International Horse Show
National Sport Committee Position
Non-Executive Board Director Vacancies
New title partner as legendary series jumps into its 109th season
Fife?s Shaunie Greig dominates both Charles Britton Equestrian Construction Winter JA Classic qualifiers at Addington Manor Equestrian Centre
website design and hosting by Mneumonix IT Consultants

Copyright © Area 2 BRC 2013 - 2018